Sophia found in the old testament meaning “Wisdom”

I begin with the praise of Sophia found in the old testament of the bible from Proverbs – “Sophia” being a Greek word meaning, “wisdom.” I prayed and understanding was given to me. I entreated and the spirit of wisdom came to me. I esteemed for more than scepters and thrones. Compared with Her, I held riches as nothing. I reckoned no priceless stone to be Her peer, for compared with Her all gold is a pinch of sand and beside Her silver ranks as mud. I loved Her more than health or beauty, preferred Her to light since Her radiance never sleeps. In Her company, all good things come to me. At Her hands, riches not to be numbered. All these I delighted in since wisdom brings them but as yet, I did not know, She was their Mother.

What I learned without self-interest I pass on without reserve. I do not intend to hide Her riches for She is an inexhaustible treasure to all and those who acquire it win The Goddess friendship, commended as they are to him by the benefits of Her teachings. For within Her is a spirit intelligent, holy, unique, manifold, subtle, active, incisive unsullied, invulnerable, benevolent, sharp, irresistible, beneficent, loving to man, steadfast, dependable, unperturbed, all mighty, all surveying, penetrating, all intelligent, and most subtle spirits, for wisdom is quicker to move than any motion.

She is so pure, She purveys and permeates all things. She is a breath of the power of God, pure emanation of the glory of the almighty; hence nothing impure can find a way into Her. She is a reflection of the eternal light, untarnished mirror of God’s active power image of goodness. Although alone She can do all. Herself unchanging She makes all things new. In each generation, She passes into Holy souls. She makes them friends of God and prophets. For God loves only the man who lives with wisdom.

She is indeed more splendid than the sun. She outshines all the constellations. Compared with light she take first place, for light must yield to-night, but over wisdom evil can never triumph. She deploys Her strength from one end of the earth to the other. Ordering all things for good, this is a beautiful ancient worship to the Goddess.

I doubt many if any of you have read it or heard it as with most. Of course, I’m sure that bible scholars may have their own interpretation, however it is an ancient praise to the Motherhood of God. You see She is the Love that brings us together. She is the beauty of dawn and dusk. She is pure innocence of the childlike nature. She is the earth who is the material womb of our existence. She is the sun and moon, her eyes watching over us. She is totality.

Namaste’

Leave a Reply

